MONUMENT

On-going: 16th of June – 31st of July 2011, SOFT galleri (Oslo)

Couple of weeks ago I was rambling around the streets of Oslo. The rain was poring down and I wasn’t really in the mood for anything. All of a sudden I heard some lusty bird-sounds around me and for a moment it felt like I was back on that Amazon trip I did some years ago. I looked on all sides and in a window on my left I was fronted by a big “mountain-shaped” pile of second hand clothing.

“Monument” by Sidsel Palmstrøm

Photograph by Konsthopp

My interest and curiosity was roused and guided me further into a tiny-little gallery were I could take a better look at the “monument”. I stood there for a moment reflecting on the piece and as a general admirer of vintage clothing it really attracted me; it’s simplicity, the funky smell textile and the untold story behind each clothing. At the same time I wondered how or if it had something to do with the bird-sounds I’d heard outside. After a short but a nice chat with the gallerist I found out that the sounds were part of the installation and a way to grab people’s attention to the window, in a surprising but nice way.

And it worked, at least on me!

The gallery is closed in July but the exhibition can still be “heard” and viewed from outside the exhibition room.

Date: 16th of June – 31st of July 2011

Artist: Sidsel Palmstrøm

Place: SOFT galleri, Rådhusgaten 20, Oslo

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Konsthopp, Solo exhibit, Sound Art, Textile Art

One response to “MONUMENT

  1. Pingback: MOTHER NATURE IN MARCH | Konsthopp

Leave a Reply

