“THE COLOUR YELLOW IN A PAINTING BY PICASSO”

Artist talk: Jóna Hlíf Halldórsdóttir (Iceland)

Waiting by living, hoarding by breathing, establishing legions of excessive blunders, accidents by birth, titanical mistakes, real horrorshow coincidentals, with no aims, no means but an end (like all), a particularly beautiful laboratory and a flower-shaped petri plate, right here. Waiting, aiming, receiving, working: reprocess — platch, pow and a piece.

That’s the piece I must, that’s my own, designated.

— Jóna Hlíf Halldórsdóttir

H E L L, installation (2009)

Art is everyday and artists are everywhere. On an ordinary everyday morning, I ran across Róska´s mother at my daughter´s kindergarden.

After an everyday chat about everyday life, I found out that the mother is an active visual artist. And suddenly I wanted to hear more. Because artists are in general attractive. Since their lives are less ordinary.

While I beat him with a dry fish, photograph (2008)

There was no rule two,  photograph (2007) 

Photographs belong to Jóna Hlíf Halldórsdóttir

“I would like to be Róska for one day. I have a feeling that her life was one big performance and being Róska for one day is like being the colour yellow in a painting by Picasso,” says Jóna Hlíf when I asked her which artist she would like to be for one day.

Read the whole interview with Róska´s mother here!

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Artist Talk, Installation, Photography, Political Art, Reykjavík, Sociopolitical art, Visual Art

One response to ““THE COLOUR YELLOW IN A PAINTING BY PICASSO”

  1. Pingback: (I)NDEPENDENT PEOPLE | Konsthopp

Leave a Reply

