MY SHADOWS

Artist in residence: Elina Lajunen (Finland)

– Read Elina’s previous diary notes; Right time, right place

In Iceland my art project and my own inside travel went together. Difficulties in the beginning turned to be sources of my creativity. I looked at the coast in Vogar. It was black and full of alga and different things from the sea. It looked like the cemetery of the sea. It looked like me, my shadows. But I thought that I wanted to know what was there, in the shadows.

I started to collect things and dry alga in different ways. I made hats from alga! Suddenly ugly and scary things from cemetery became beautiful objects. Darkness turned to be light.  Someone has said that dark and light are actually the same. I believe that. In the darkness is your light.

I also got an idea of Art of the hostessing. I wanted to create space where people can be and spend time, get inspiration, meet people, see art and make art themself. And take a cup of coffee and have some cakes. I created Elina´s olohuone.  “Olohuone” means “living room” in English. It was little festival which took place in Vogar in the 13th – 15th of April this year. I created exhibition to the barn with sofas and tables and things that I found during my travel.

There were three sisters from Chekhov play, hidden people made of photos and shellfish and book about my travel. I also created workshop called Fishfactory. In this factory we made fishes from men ties. I had guests, wonderful artist from Reykjavik and different parts of world working with me. On Sunday we had milonga, Argentinian tango dances, in the home for the elderly. The whole weekend was a great success and I was so happy of all those lovely people and beautiful moments.

Photographs belong to Elina Lajunen

My friend Canadian Poet Angela Rawlings who had great voice workshop in my Livingroom festival spoke about closing things. It’s important to make endings. In the end of the travel I remembered Angelas words. I have to close this travel. What has it been for me? I will say: This travel has been one of the most important things I have had in my life. It was a gift. I feel I found myself, my little inner hidden person, my fairy, my soul. And I found love. Love as a source and energy. I will say like Lovisa; I am rich.

Takk fyrir,

Elina

Elina Lajunen is a Finnish artist. She is a performer, director, visual artist and musician. She has studied music and Puppet Theatre in Finland and Physical theatre in Paris in The International Theatre School of Jacques Lecoq. 

From 2nd of March until 18th of April 2012 Elina stayed in Vogar, Iceland. She has been writing diary notes which she has been kind enough to share with us. This post is the second letter of two. Read Elina´s previous post here.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Artist in residence, Guest blog, Iceland, Menningarverkefnið Hlaðan, Multimedia, Music, Uncategorized

2 responses to “MY SHADOWS

  1. Those collages are absolutely wonderful

Leave a Reply

